NENSA Awards

These awards are given annually to honor the achievements and contributions of our members who work to support NENSA’s mission of sustaining a vibrant and active Nordic skiing community in New England. 

2018 Award Recipients:

John Caldwell Award:  
One of NENSA’s finest traditions is presenting the John Caldwell Award.  This award annually recognizes a single individual, or entity, which embodies the spirit, dedication, innovation, and pride of John Caldwell. 

Bob Haydock

Coach of the Year:  This award is given annually to honor a NENSA coach for their achievements and contributions in working with athletes, in support of NENSA’s mission to sustain a vibrant and active Nordic skiing community in New England.

Nathan Alsobrook, Bowdoin College

Club of the Year: This award is given annually to honor a NENSA club that is making great strides in supporting the NENSA mission to sustain a vital and active nordic skiing community in New England.

Stratton Mountain School

Chummy Broomhall Award: This award is named after Chummy, who was the Chisholm Ski Club leader for 70 plus years, 2 time Olympian, and builder of the Olympic race courses for Squaw Valley, Lake Placid and Black Mountain.  He embodied the spirit of being a volunteer as he was a man who gave his time to generations. It is in this spirit that this award be in his honor for the unsung heroes of ski racing.

Herb Adams, Chisholm Ski Club

Bill Koch League Youth Leadership Award: The Bill Koch League Leadership Award is for those community members who embody fun, community, and a lifelong love of the sport.

Anna Schulz, Craftsbury Nordic

Gallagher Cup: Eastern Cup Champions (Best 7 of 9 races).  We honor these skiers inspired efforts and celebrate Mike Gallagher’s legacy as an athlete, coach, and community leader. The two skiers who win this award each year do so by being consistently dominant in New England’s premier race series.

Callie Young, Dartmouth and Josh Valentine, GMVS